BCPS in the News

And the Winner is… BCPS Honors Top Teacher, Principal, Assistant Principal and Employee of the Year

Thursday, April 06, 2017

Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) honored its best at the 2017 Caliber Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, April 5, 2017, at the Greater Fort Lauderdale/Broward County Convention Center in Fort Lauderdale. The annual Caliber Awards recognizes and honors the exemplary leadership, hard work and dedication of the District’s outstanding teachers, principals, assistant principals and school-related/District employees.

Congratulations to all of the 2017 Caliber Awards winners!
Teacher of the Year
Eleanna Hurst, Collins Elementary School

“I am sometimes the only person that may encourage students to become anything that they want to be; teaching offers the opportunity to be that spark to so many students,” says Eleanna Hurst. As a third generation educator, Hurst’s mission is to develop well-rounded, literate, problem-solvers and thinkers, who will become productive members in society. Under her leadership, third grade students earned the highest number of percentage points in Broward County on the 2016 Florida State Assessments. Hurst is “a phenomenal teacher and a tremendous asset,” says her principal Dr. Tracy Jackson.

Teacher of the Year Finalists
Deborah Alexander, Pembroke Pines Elementary School
Kristin Baltazar, Henry D. Perry Education Center
Pamela Griffin, Monarch High School
Michele Matias, Crystal Lake Middle School
Jeffrey Rose, Cypress Bay High School
Principal of the Year
Elaine Saef, Panther Run Elementary School

As principal of Panther Run Elementary School, Elaine Saef views her role as one of removing barriers. She is known for creating and implementing programs and activities that motivate and inspire teachers to educate students to achieve their highest potential. Saef is dedicated to developing an inclusive school environment and a positive school culture that effectively puts students first, emphasizes academics and builds teachers trust. As a dynamic and engaging leader, Saef constantly challenges her school community to excel.

Principal of the Year Finalists
Marc Charpentier, Sunset Lakes Elementary School
Dr. Lewis Jackson, Dania Elementary School
Christopher McGuire, Broward Virtual School  
Keith Peters, Gator Run Elementary School
Ty Thompson, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
Assistant Principal of the Year
Patricia Brown, Coral Springs High School

A hard-working instructional leader, Patricia Brown focuses on the academic inclusion of a culturally diverse student population at Coral Springs High School. Brown creates and nurtures a positive learning environment to facilitate student achievement. Her mentoring initiatives positively impacted at-risk students and increased the graduation rate for Coral Springs High. “A star, revolutionary and trailblazer,” are words used by former Principal Susan Leon-Leigh to describe Brown. She works tirelessly to build relationships that provide answers to the latest challenges in education.

Assistant Principal of the Year Finalists
David Argent, Coral Springs Middle School   
Janet Calamaro, Nova Blanche Forman Elementary School
Patricia Genhold, Bair Middle School    
Marie Hautigan, Fort Lauderdale High School  
Sophia Myers, North Fork Elementary School  
School-Related/District Employee of the Year
Terri Cianelli, Seminole Middle School

Terri Cianelli is a team motivator who finds ways to maximize the talents and skills of her school’s clerical staff. Under her leadership, the clerical team provides an organized, customer-friendly environment to support teachers’ daily lesson plans and enhance students’ learning experiences. She is a dynamic professional who goes above and beyond expectations in every task performed. “Ms Cianelli takes great initiative and does not hesitate to wear any hat that is necessary to assist any parent, teacher or student,” said Principal Kathryn Marlow.

School-Related/District Employee of the Year Finalists
Teresa Basilone, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School  
Oshekia Day, Student Support Initiatives Department
Denise Loglia, Atlantic West Elementary School  
Tracy-Ann Smith, Lauderdale Lakes Middle School  
Suzanne Specht, Plantation Park Elementary School  

The 2017 Caliber Awards Ceremony is supported by presenting and title sponsor BrightStar Credit Union. Also supporting the Caliber Awards are platinum sponsors Aetna, Bank of America and Nova Southeastern University; silver sponsors After School Programs, Inc. (ASP), Pearson and Sunshine Child Programs; and bronze sponsors Herff Jones and the Broward Principals’ and Assistants’ Association.

“Committed to educating all students to reach their highest potential.”

Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is the sixth largest school district in the nation and the second largest in the state of Florida. BCPS is Florida’s first fully accredited school system since 1962. BCPS has over 271,000 students and approximately 175,000 adult students in 236 schools, centers and technical colleges, and 99 charter schools. BCPS serves a diverse student population, with students representing 208 different countries and 181 different languages. To learn more, visit browardschools.com. Follow BCPS on Twitter @browardschools and Facebook at facebook.com/browardschools, and download the
free BCPS mobile app.